State lifts burn ban

Jun 12, 2019 at 07:00 am by Dale-RB

A burn ban imposed by Washington County and state officials May 30 was lifted at 5 p.m., Monday, June 10.

Burn permits are now available in those counties once again, however caution is strongly encouraged with any open burning as careless debris burns are the leading cause of wildfires in North Carolina.

Repeated showers over the past 10 days have lessened the impact of an unusually dry spring season and warm and dry conditions in the 18-county district that includes Washington County and Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt and Tyrrell counties...

For full story, check out this week’s paper.

Get the Newsletter